Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars

Original post can be found here.

I wanted to make a Bar Of Something this week, so I thumbed through my Chocolate Chip recipe book and came across these chocolate chip cheesecake bars with cookie dough on top, drizzled with melted chocolate. I’m not a huge fan of cheesecake, but this sounded positively delicious, so I had to try it.

The recipe called for a graham cracker crust. I could either buy graham cracker crumbs already made (which I couldn’t find), or buy regular graham crackers and crush them in a plastic bag with a rolling pin. We didn’t have a rolling pin, so I had to improvise.

After I did that, and added the melted butter… it wasn’t enough for the pan. Later I realized that the recipe actually called for a 9×9, but it only said 9-inch, so I assumed a 13×9 would be fine. Well, it wasn’t, so I had to make more crust, but finally I managed to make enough. I threw the chocolate chips in there and got ready to make the “cookie dough”.

Okay, so the recipe in the book was totally wrong. I followed it exactly, and it did not make dough, it made brown powder. It didn’t say put in an egg in the recipe, but I did it anyway, and it sort of worked except one large egg was too much, and I didn’t have enough ingredients for another batch, so I had to throw it away. So it would wind up being a crust with only cheesecake filling on it, but that wasn’t so bad a deal.

I made the cheesecake filling, butttt I’d forgotten about my pan being too big, so there wasn’t enough for to cover the entire crust. So I just kinda plopped it all in the middle, stuck it in the oven, and hoped it wouldn’t look like crap.

When it came out… okay, I’m still not entirely sure if it baked all the way. I didn’t know how to tell if cheesecake is done. But it didn’t wobble when I shook it so I figured it was all right. I melted some chocolate chips, put it in a pastry bag, and decorated.

I was kinda worried because it didn’t look awesome like in the book, but my brownie sundaes didn’t look ANYTHING like in that recipe’s picture and it tasted delicious. I let it sit for an hour, stuck in the fridge for five minutes for no reason, then cut them up.

They looked pretty good! I was worried for nothing. I tried one but, again, I’m not a huge fan of cheesecake so I didn’t finish it, but yeah. I think the cheesecake might be too liquid-y, but it was supposed to be filling so I guess that’s okay. I hope everyone else winds up liking it.

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars

  1. […] play by the rules, man. As I was crushing the graham crackers with my rolling pin (instead of a hammer), I grew more and more worried. Given my track record recently, it seemed inevitable that I fuck […]

Leave a Reply

