Ganache Sandwich Cookies

Last night, I simply could not get to sleep. I don’t know what it was, but I laid there in my bed for hours, eyes shut, body exhausted, and my brain would just not stop jabbering away about nothing in particular. It even sabotaged my attempts at slumber by inventing noises that weren’t actually happening so I would be jolted awake.

And I had to wake up at 7:30 in the morning.

I was positive that I would not be able to bake anything today, but after drinking some coffee and going to my job, I felt much more awake. I guess because I was lying down all night as opposed to running around and getting up to shenanigans?

Anyway, I walked home after work and started these awesome, delicious, ganache-filled cookies.

I’ve been wanting to try making ganache for a while now, and after the failure of last week’s Melting Moments, I decided to try those cookies again, but with ganache instead.

Instead of adding two eggs this time, though, I just added one. And it worked!

https://i2.wp.com/i55.tinypic.com/el1pog.jpg

The dough looked to be the right consistency, although once again I could not form it into balls, but it wasn’t nearly as liquid-y as it was last time. It also took them longer to bake this time, and they didn’t get an insane brown edge around them either.

https://i1.wp.com/i51.tinypic.com/2iuw0sj.jpg

They took ridiculously long to make, though. In the end I wound up with eleven cookies, and I think it took about an hour and a half to bake them all. …Okay, I suppose that isn’t so long, but I am so goddamn impatient and I just wanted to make the ganache filling already. I was very excited about it.

I was also extremely worried. If you’ve read this blog at all, you know how I tend to screw up even the simplest of tasks, so it seemed inevitable that my first attempt at ganache would be a Fail.

But it wasn’t.

https://i0.wp.com/i56.tinypic.com/2vmtv6t.jpg

I heated the heavy cream and butter, poured it on top of the chocolate chips (you’re supposed to chop up chocolate, but who has the time?), stirred with the whisk, and it was glorious.

I put the ganache in the fridge for 45 minutes, then piped it onto the cookies.

https://i1.wp.com/i54.tinypic.com/2ezr3o9.jpg

LOOK AT THEM. THEY ARE MARVELOUS. And they are so, so yummy. They’re like round, melty Milanoes. They all came out absolutely perfect —

https://i1.wp.com/i51.tinypic.com/wb8gft.jpg

…Oops.

One thought on “Ganache Sandwich Cookies

  1. […] Jackie Ruins The Cake "Are you a fan of delicious flavor?" Skip to content HomeAbout the Baker ← Ganache Sandwich Cookies […]

Leave a Reply

