Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

To be honest, I’m getting a little tired of cupcakes at this point. It’s a lot of work, and most of the time my cupcakes come out looking like crap. Especially today! But I went ahead with it anyway, because hey, mint chocolate chip is the best ice cream flavor, and I needed to try it as a cupcake.

I actually didn’t use a recipe this time — I couldn’t find anything that wasn’t Italian Meringue or Swiss Meringue or French Meringue or *insert nationality here* Meringue, and I was not about to attempt to separate eggs again. So I just decided to substitute vanilla extract with mint extract, and sprinkle semi-sweet chips on top.

https://i2.wp.com/oi51.tinypic.com/t5rarm.jpg

Now, I know it’s ~OMG THE WORST SACRILEGE~ to use cake mixes, but you know, I don’t really know what I’m doing and the last time I made cupcakes entirely from scratch, the cake itself was crumbly and a little odd-tasting, and also I have a limited amount of time on my hands, and also I am very impatient, so for now I am using mixes for my cupcakes. I know, I know — HOW DARE I — but if you don’t like it… well, I don’t really care.

I used a Devil’s Food cake mix this time, but to be honest, I’m not really a fan of chocolate cake all by itself. I need frosting, or something moist inside it. So, since I had heavy cream leftover from last week’s Ganache Sandwich Cookies, obviously I had to put in a ganache filling. Because ganache is fucking delicious and I would put ganache on everything if I could. CHOCOLATE…. CHOCOLATE….

https://i1.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/9i9th2.jpg

So I made the cake mix cupcakes, blah blah blah. I always hate putting the batter in the tin. There’s always a huge mess whenever I do it. I don’t understand how there are people out there who manage to be so neat whenever they cook while I wind up with cupcake batter on the cabinets. Oh, well. The cupcakes came out pretty good, so I set them off to the side to cool while I made the ~~ganache~~.

https://i2.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/8wwetl.jpg

This is sort of where I went wrong. I probably should have melted the chocolate chips a little bit before I poured the heavy cream onto them, because it came out sort of clumpy. Still absolutely delicious, of course (seriously, I could eat ganache entirely by itself with little no shame), but when I tried to fill the cupcakes, there was a clump at the end of the decorating tip, and none of the ganache actually, um. Got out. Okay, some of it did, but I suspect that at least half of the cupcakes have no ganache in them whatsoever. But that’s okay.

It was time to make the frosting! My butter was nice and soft, my powdered sugar was nicely sifted… okay, not all of it was sifted because I got bored with squeezing the thingy (yeah, this is why I could never be an actual baker), but close enough. I put in 1/2 teaspoon of the mint extract, and it tasted good! A little like toothpaste, but hey, that’s mint for ya.

Only… there was barely enough frosting for four cupcakes. And there were air bubbles or something, I guess, and the frosting didn’t go on very smoothly. I had cleaned up everything about two times by this point, and really did not want to clean the bowl, make more frosting, clean it again, make more frosting again, etc, so I just went “fuck this shit”, and I’m going to frost the rest tomorrow because I am tired of cupcakes today.

https://i2.wp.com/oi51.tinypic.com/i6y3km.jpg

(this may look like a normal cupcake, but I shot it from the good side)

I cleaned up once again, and oh my God you guys, I hate cleaning up so much. It is so fucking annoying; I absolutely cannot stand it. And I do my best and I still get lectured by my parents about properly cleaning up after myself because there’s, like, one drop of something on the counter. If you had only seen the kitchen before I cleaned it.

https://i2.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/2qdpqv4.jpg

After that, I finally tasted one of the damn cupcakes. And it was — pretty good. Nothing amazing. But it wasn’t a total failure. The chocolate chips saved it from being kind of boring, though.

https://i1.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/331hesz.jpg

And if you know me at all, you know that I never, ever sing in public. Ever. My singing voice is absolutely horrible and I would never willingly subject it to human ears. But for some reason, whenever I’m baking, and I’ve got my iTunes shuffle blasting, I find myself singing along merrily. Probably to the bleeding ears of the people living upstairs.

https://i2.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/sfcimx.jpg

And, just for the hell of it, here’s the recipes for the ganache and frosting.

Chocolate Ganache

3/4 cup of heavy cream

2 slices of unsalted butter

8 oz of semi-sweet chopped chocolate or chocolate chips

Pour the heavy cream and two chunks of butter into a medium saucepan. Heat ’til just boiling, then pour into a medium-sized bowl of either chopped chocolate or slightly melted chocolate chips. Let sit for thirty seconds, then stir with a whisk until thick. At first it won’t look like anything is happening, but just keep stirring and it will. Chill for 45 minutes – 1 hour, and fill the cupcakes by either using a decorating bag or cutting a hole into the cupcake and plopping it in there.

Mint Chocolate Chip Frosting

(I used less sugar and butter than this, so don’t worry, you’ll be able to frost more than four)

4 cups confectioner’s sugar, sifted

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1/2 teaspoon pure mint extract

3 drops green food coloring

semi-sweet chocolate chips

Slice the butter into a medium or large bowl, then pour the sifted sugar. Beat with an electric mixer set on low until well blended. Stir in the mint extract, then the food coloring. Pipe onto cupcakes. Sprinkle on as many chocolate chips as you like.

4 thoughts on “Mint Chocolate Chip Cupcakes

  1. Erin says:

    I am of the opinion that you should always include amazing drawings of your baking process. 😀 That is pretty hilarious and adorable. ^_^

    DOOOO IIIITTT. ALWAYS. 😀

  2. Aparna says:

    I don’t know about your baking but your write very well. 🙂
    Its sounds a lot like me when I first started baking, so you still have hope. Persevere and you shall become a master baker.
    Agree about the ganache, I could put it on everything. And hey, at least your cupcake has a very good side. Some of my early ones were total disasters from every angle. LOL

Leave a Reply

