Dairy-Free Black and White Cookies

This week posed a bit of a challenge for me! I’m going to New York Comic-Con this weekend, and my friend Corinne graciously agreed to let me stay at her apartment in Manhattan. As a thank you I wanted to make her black and white cookies, which are awesome and delicious. However, she told me that she can’t have anything with dairy in it. So, I spent the next several days gathering up as much information on dairy-free products and dairy-free recipes as I could, and I… um, successfully made black and white cookies. Or I would have, if I had been able to procure dairy-free chocolate. But I wasn’t able to. So instead they wound up being black and white cookies without the black.

Well, white cookies, I guess. (Racist cookies? Or is that too insensitive?)

Anyway, black and white cookies require milk, but since milk is — surprise! — a dairy, I had to use an alternative.

Soy milk. Ugh.

Granted, I’ve never actually consumed soy milk, but as soon as I twisted the cap off, I smelled the soy milk’s smell and I promptly dry-heaved. How can anyone drink this stuff?! I put it in anyway, but I really didn’t want to. In hindsight I probably should have asked her if Lactaid would be okay, but I had already bothered her with enough questions and didn’t want to ask her yet another.

Now, instead of butter, I used butter-flavored Crisco. And I think it may have worked. I don’t really know. I was too grossed out by the soy milk to actually, uh, try any of the finished cookies. But at least I know I won’t eat half of them before I get to her house.

https://i0.wp.com/oi51.tinypic.com/2ebtqwj.jpg

The frosting came out delicious, at any rate. Most of the cookies don’t really look white enough (i.e. it’s a clear glaze on most of it), but hey.

https://i0.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/2wrn4m8.jpg

I’m gonna put the recipe here, but I only recommend these if you like soy milk. (SERIOUSLY, HOW DO YOU DRINK IT)

Dairy-Free Black and White Cookies

1 Cup butter-flavored Crisco

1 1/2 cup of sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup of soy milk

Set rack in middle of the oven and heat to 350 degrees F. Cream the Crisco and sugar together, then add eggs and vanilla and beat until creamy. Sift together the dry ingredients in a separate bowl, then add to the wet, alternating with the soy milk (dry ingredients, a little bit of soy, dry ingredients, soy, etc). Take  1/4 cup of dough and plop it onto the baking sheet lined with parchment paper, then spread with a knife or spatula into a two-inch circle. Continue with the rest of the cookies. Baked until lightly browned, or 14-20 minutes. Let cool to the side.

Frosting

4 cups confectioner’s sugar

1/2 cup of hot water

2 tablespoons light corn syrup

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 oz. dairy-free chocolate, chopped

Place the confectioner’s sugar in a bowl, then stir in the hot water, corn syrup, and vanilla extract. Stir until it is spreading consistency, and add more sugar or water as needed. Take half of the frosting, pour it into a separate bowl, and add the chopped chocolate. You can either melt the chocolate beforehand in a microwave and pour it in and stir, or place all of the ingredients over simmering water until the chocolate melts and the frosting is smooth.

Then, turn the cookies so the flat sides are up, and spread vanilla frosting on one half, and chocolate frosting on the other.

4 thoughts on “Dairy-Free Black and White Cookies

  1. Corinne says:

    These cookies were delicious. Don’t fear the soy milk Jackie. While it is pretty horrible to drink, when you mix it into baked goods they still taste yummy. You may not believe me since I’m one of them weird non-dairy people but you can safely believe Luke. He is pretty terrified of soy milk and as you saw he inhaled those cookies. Trust me, if they had tasted like soy milk he would have run screaming. (just ask him to talk about he “chreese” incident) Anyway, the cookies were great, we both loved them. Thanks Jackie.

  2. Luke says:

    Well if your really depressed about it you could bake some more and bring them to my Birthday party. lol XD

Leave a Reply

