Cinnamon Apple Crisp

Logic 101, with Jackie Ruins the Cake.

A: Cinnamon tastes great, B: Cinnamon smells like heaven in your nostrils, THEREFORE: Cinnamon should be on everything ever.

I’m mildly allergic to apples, but I decided to make apple crisp this week anyway (and now that I’ve eaten it, I think I may just be allergic to the skin as opposed to the apple itself). I mean, it’s fall, and that means apples, according to the baking blogs of the intertubes. Plus I got this Betty Crocker baking magazine a month ago and it’s about time I made something from it.

Of course, the recipe in the book included cranberries, and I don’t know if I like cranberries, so I omitted that. But how can I resist the allure of cinnamon? I can’t, that’s how.

Before today, I’d never peeled a fruit in my life. As expected, I needed to watch a few YouTube videos before getting some semblance of what I was supposed to be doing, and I think lost about a 1/3 of the apple each time. Plus the skin just kept flying all over the place.  But by the time I got to the last one it was going along a little more smoothly, even though my fingers were pruny as hell.

The rest was pretty easy. Just pour the ground cinnamon over it, put it in the pan, then mix the rest of the ingredients, pour it over that, and bake for about 40 minutes. Not too shabby!

(they smelled so amazing even just coated in cinnamon before I baked them; I wanted to eat them all right there!)

It was good, too. I’m not used to eating apples, so it was kind of strange to eat something so apple-y, but still, tasty. My mom enjoyed it as well, even though she’s sick.

Fuck yeah, crisps!

Cinnamon Apple Crisp (adapted from Betty Crocker Fall Baking)

6 medium sized apples, peeled and sliced

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tablespoon lemon juice

3/4 cup quick-cooking oats

3/4 cup of all-purpose flour

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 cup of butter, softened

Ice cream

Heat the oven to 375 degrees F. Mix together the sliced apples, cinnamon, and lemon juice, then put in a 13×9 pan.

Then mix the remaining ingredients (except for the ice cream) together with a fork until it’s crumbly, then sprinkle over the apples. Bake for about 35-40 minutes, or until the apples are soft and tender. Put in a bowl immediately and put a scoop of ice cream on top if you want, and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Cinnamon Apple Crisp

  1. Shelly says:

    This looks like such a lovely fall dish… I can never get enough of the apple/cinnamon combo! I grew up eating a dish similar to this, but my mom spread the crumb topping on a cookie sheet and pre-baked it for 10 minutes or so before sprinkling on the apple filling and putting it back in the oven. I personally like your method a little better – you get more of a cohesive “crust” over the apples I think – but the toasting makes it crunchier!

    I love the style of your blog. I’m a newbie to the blogosphere working on a project for school, and I’d really appreciate a visit to my page and a little feedback on what I’m doing!

    Happy cooking!

  2. Erin says:

    Gah, I love apple crisp stuffs. I don’t like cooked apples too much, ’cause they get all squishy and weird, but in a crisp thing with the crust and the cinnamon and the ice cream, it’s delicious. 😀 I might have to make this now! XD

Leave a Reply

