Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

I was staring at my computer screen yesterday, trying to think of what I should bake this week, when I said to myself, “Y’know, it’s a little weird that my blog is called ‘Jackie Ruins The Cake’, and yet I have not yet attempted to make an entire cake from scratch yet.” So I thumbed through my Essential Chocolate Chip Cookbook, having finally forgiven it for giving me bad cookie dough recipes in the past, and came across Chocolate Chip Pound Cake. Pound cake! Hooray! I love pound cake! And I love chocolate chips! And the recipe listed ground cinnamon as an ingredient! This would surely be a glorious cake, a glorious cake indeed!

I had to buy a tube pan for this particular experiment (which is pretty much forcing me to make angel food cake at some point in the future), and this made me sad because I was originally planning to buy minimal ingredients/supplies this week, as my designated Bakery Cabinet Thing is overflowing, but oh well.

I got up nice and early (early meaning 10 a.m.) to make my cake, but quickly got distracted by internets and Marble Blast and didn’t actually start mixing the ingredients until noon.

Now, since this blog is named “Jackie Ruins The Cake”, I was entirely expecting that the cake would, in fact, get ruined at some point, just as an “LOL” from the universe for picking that as my blog title. Despite this, I was not really stressed out, and I think because I was so Not Stressed and wasn’t freaking out over every little thing I was doing like I usually am wont to do… the cake was not ruined. In fact, the cake was actually pretty nice.

https://i1.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/ogexqa.jpg

(it looks a lot whiter here than it did in real life, for some reason)

The only thing I was worried about was that I had added too much salt, as the recipe called for 1/8 of a teaspoon, a measurement I did not have, so I had tried to carefully pour a tiny bit in, but instead probably about 1/2 a teaspoon wound up in the flour mixture instead. But it was fine.

…Well, okay, there was one other thing I was worried about. Once the batter itself was done and I had to put it in there, I was sure I wasn’t spreading it correctly, having never used a tube pan before. I had to get my mom to help me, although she had never made pound cake from scratch either. And, well, I guess I was sort of right.

https://i1.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/2hzbyr.jpg

The inside was crumbly, and the cake itself didn’t look ~OMG PERFECT AND SMOOTH!~, but you know, it tasted pretty fantastic. I loved the streaks of chocolate inside the cake. I wish I had added more, and if I ever make this again (which I very well might!), I will definitely have to add at least 15% more chips.

https://i0.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/8vzyc2.jpg

And the powdered sugar! Yum. It made a huge mess, but lookit! It’s so pretty! It’s like snow! A beautiful, snowy cake! Huzzah!

https://i1.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/35bcop0.jpg

And now, I bring unto you, le recipe.

Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

(from The Essential Chocolate Chip Cookbook)

Topping

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

6 tablespoons light brown sugar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 stick unsalted butter, melted (I wound up having to use the whole stick)

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Cake

3 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

3 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature

8 oz cream cheese, room temperature

2 3/4 cups sugar

6 large eggs, room temperature for 1 hour

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon almond extract (I didn’t use this)

and Powdered Sugar for dusting

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F, and butter the bottom, sides, and center tube of a 9 1/2 or 10-inch tube pan. Line the bottom of the pan with a ring of parchment paper, and butter that as well (or use cooking spray).

Make the topping

In a medium bowl, stir the flour, brown sugar, granulated sugar, and cinnamon until well blended. Stir in the melted butter until the mixture is evenly moistened, then set aside.

Make the cake

Sift the flour, baking powder, and salt into a medium bowl, then set aside.

In a large bowl, with your electric mixer on medium, beat the butter and cream cheese until blended. Add the sugar and beat until fluffy and lightened to a creamy color. Stop the mixer and scrape down the sides of the bowl as needed. Put the eggs in a small bowl and beat them lightly using a fork. Add the eggs in three additions, mixing until incorporated each time. Add the extracts and beat until blended, then on low speed add the flour mixture just until it is incorporated.

Pour half of the batter into the pan, then sprinkle 1 1/2 cup of the crumb topping over the batter. Pour the rest of the cake batter on top of that, and spread evenly. Sprinkle the rest of the crumb mixture on top, and press it gently into the batter. Bake until the top looks light brown under the crumbs and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, or about an hour and a half.

Let the cake cool in the pan for at least an hour. Then, run a knife around the sides and center tube to loosen the cake, then revert it onto a flat serving plate, then flip it onto a wire rack so it is right side up. Wait for it to cool some more, then sprinkle powdered sugar on it (I used a sifter), and serve!

(looking back on this, I messed up on a lot of the ingredients. It’s a wonder my cake turned out as well as it did!)

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pound Cake

  1. Erin says:

    Yay! What a good cake! šŸ˜€ I’m proud of you. ^_^ And seriously, come live in my house and make me delicious desserts all the time, plzkthx.

    <3!

Leave a Reply

