Peanut Butter Spider Cookies

IT’S HALLOWEEN! A time for scary things! Like spiiiiders.

Okay, so originally I was going to make Jack O’ Lantern cake pops. And I did, actually, start making them yesterday. But something went terribly, terribly wrong!

https://i2.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/30ue5c0.jpg

I made the actual cake balls, and no problems arose. But then, when I put the orange candy melts in my Pyrex container and melted them in the microwave… they burned. Badly.

I tried several more times, but they burned and burned and burned until I had no more candy melts left. I threw out my cake balls in frustration and decided to do something entirely different. I hate making cake balls anyway, so nyah nyah to cake balls. I don’t know what I’m going to do with these leftover lollipop sticks, though.

I flipped through my Betty Crocker Fall Baking magazine thingy, and found something relatively easy to do — Peanut Butter Spider Cookies!

https://i1.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/2r6zl92.jpg

You can either make the cookies themselves from a mix or with a from-scratch recipe. I went with the mix because I’m crunched for time and I knew the spiders themselves would take a while to assemble. But if you want to be a purist you can do it from scratch.

I made the cookie mix, and while that was baking I unwrapped all of the Reese’s cups. The original recipe said to use these caramel candy things, but I couldn’t find any so I just went with these, since they are roughly the same size, plus it’s more peanut butter. The recipe instructed me to immediately place the candy on top of the cookies once I took them out of the oven, and I did.

https://i1.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/11t5zih.jpg

They melted quite a bit, but I guess they were supposed to, so you can stick the M&M’s and licorice legs on. And, as I suspected, it took me a little while to do that. I recommend doing one at a time and putting them on a plate in the fridge, then putting them in the freezer so they can set and the legs don’t fall off.

And the final touch — the pupils!

https://i2.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/j8p4xd.jpg

(I couldn’t find black decorating gel so I just used red)

These things are super adorable/scary, and they are (probably) delicious. Now, the problem is how to transport them to my friend’s house tonight…

Peanut Butter Spider Cookies

adapted from Betty Crocker

1 pouch of peanut butter cookie mix

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 tablespoon water

1 egg

36 Reese’s miniature cups, unwrapped

Black string licorice (or you can cut up black Twizzlers, like I did)

M&M’s or Reese’s Pieces

Black or red decorating gel

Heat oven to 375 degrees F. In medium bowl, stir mix, vegetable oil, water, and egg together until dough forms. Shape the dough into small balls and place two inches apart on baking sheet. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until light golden brown. Immediately press 1 Reese’s cup into center of each cookie, then let cool for two minutes on sheet. Transfer to wire rack and let cool completely.

Press two M&M’s or Reese’s Pieces onto the front of the candies. Then cut the licorice into small strings and stick three on each side. Place in fridge after each cookie is assembled, then transfer to freezer to let it set. Take out, then use the gel to make pupils on the eyes.

 

Oh, I almost forgot! I picked up this little thing at the bookstore yesterday —

https://i1.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/294t4as.jpg

Should come in handy!

6 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Spider Cookies

  1. KleenexCow says:

    These look tasty indeed! They remind me of the cookie my mom makes every year for Christmas: mini Reese’s PB cups wrapped in peanut butter cookie. Yum yum yum.

    (I’ve never commented here before, but I read all of your entires and love your blog. We have similar baking styles, and I like to think I’m baking vicariously though you! πŸ™‚

  2. Erin says:

    I want to eat them. I hate spiders, and yet… I want them. *stares longingly* I ❀ peanut butter cookies.

    "Solutions to every problem you'll ever face?" "Answers to every question you'll ever ask?" I feel like they're offering an awful lot… I mean, they're assuming they have the slightest idea just exactly what kind of trouble you could get into in the kitchen. I'm pretty confident you can prove them wrong. πŸ˜€

    …… I'm kidding. ❀ You're actually pretty good at this stuff. πŸ˜€

  3. Abby says:

    Me-‘baby, you need to see this’
    Husband thing-‘lol, its like she knows you’
    Me-‘spider cookies with faces? Oh, she shall’

    In a cute, sarcastic, funny way. To be clear. Im not stalking these recipes!!

Leave a Reply

