Mocha Cookies

I’m back! I didn’t bake anything last week, I know — life gets in the way. Plus we had way too many sweets around the house last week, and the last thing we needed were yet more delicious treats (well, okay, maybe not the last thing).

But! This week is different. I bought a magazine with tons of cookie and brownie recipes, many of which I will be utilizing in the future I’m sure, and I flipped to a random page and decided to make these really good Mocha Cookies.

Now, the original recipe was “Mocha Wands”, and I was supposed to get a cookie press with a star tip to make them into these really cool-looking wands. But I really didn’t feel like buying a cookie press, so I was going to just roll them into strings and call them Choco-Wands.

You see, back in middle school, when I was deep in the throes of my Harry Potter obsession, I wrote a fic entitled The Marauders Go Golfing, and in this fic the characters were snacking on something I invented called “Choco-Wands”. I envisioned them as sort of mini Pockys (although I was not aware of the existence of Pockys at the time), only more intricately shaped as wands. They were in a bright red, thick plastic bag with a window. I was quite proud of this snack I had created, and wished I could make them myself. So, I tried to today!

Um… try being the operative word here.

https://i0.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/34g39j7.jpg

…Yeah. They look more like worms than wands, no? Plus they’re burnt.

So I gave up the dream of getting to make Choco-Wands (for now), and made them as regular, round cookies instead.

The smell of the Starbucks Via instant coffee was wafting through the kitchen the entire time I was making this, and I have to tell you, it smelled pretty great. I’m not a fan of Starbucks coffee normally, but the mocha instant coffee smells great, and it tasted good in the cookie, too. I haven’t tried it as a coffee yet, though.

I sprinkled half of them with pecans…

https://i0.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/2lc3310.jpg

…and half without.

https://i1.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/972xzc.jpg

I’ll be bringing these to work soon, so hopefully people like them! In the meantime, here’s the recipe.

Mocha Cookies

adapted from Ultimate Cookies & Bars

1 cup of butter, softened

3/4 cup of sugar

4 teaspoons Starbucks Via mocha instant coffee

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

8 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, melted and cooled

1 1/2 cups finely chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. In medium mixing bowl, beat butter with an electric mixer on high speed for 30 seconds. Add in sugar, instant coffee, salt, and baking powder, and beat until combined. Beat in egg and vanilla until combined. Then beat in the flour.

If you have a cookie press with a star press, put unchilled dough inside and force into 3-inch long strips onto cookie sheet. If not, simply roll the dough into balls with your hands and flatten slightly before placing on sheet. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until edges are firm. Let cool.

Dip ends of the wands or half of the round cookie into the melted chocolate. Sprinkle pecans on and let stand or sit until set.

5 thoughts on “Mocha Cookies

  1. Erin says:

    Those sound pretty tasty. Not usually a fan of coffee-stuffs either, but they do sound good. ^_^ Although I’d probably just coat the whole cookie in a few layers of chocolate… XD

    I loved that story, btw, about you being proud of your fanfic and whatnot. I think I’m going to read it. XD

  2. Erin says:

    Okay, that was the best fanfic I have ever read ever. XD You’re adorable. ❤

  3. […] recipe isn’t really too complicated, and it tastes pretty much exactly like the mocha cookies I did a while ago. Same texture and everything, only these had bits of chocolate in them and […]

Leave a Reply

