Pumpkin Rolls

Oh, man.

Once again, I’m doing Sugar High Friday, and this month’s challenge was to make anything with a center that is different from the outside. I decided to do pumpkin rolls, only instead of the traditional cream cheese filling, I used glorious Nutella instead. I did this for a couple reasons — 1) Nutella is delicious and I haven’t had it in a very long time, and 2) I really didn’t feel like making a cream cheese filling.

There were, of course, a few stumbling blocks on the way.

I actually intended to bake this thing yesterday, on my day off, but a horrible, terrifying tragedy occurred, leaving me unable to make the pumpkin roll until today.

I…

…couldn’t open the can of pumpkin.

https://i1.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/2myduh2.jpg

Before you point and laugh at me, just hear me out! I’ve never used a can opener in my life! And just look at this thing! If you’d never used a can opener before either, and you were all alone, with no one to help you, you too would start sobbing hysterically as you hit the can with a hammer.

https://i0.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/sl06pu.jpg

…Okay, maybe you wouldn’t.

I tried and tried and tried to get the can open. I tried stabbing it with a knife, but my arms were too thin and weak to pierce the aluminum. I tried flipping it upside down and rubbing the can vigorously across the counter, hobo-style. Didn’t work. I beat on it and beat on it, and only made slight dents.

I finally gave up after about half an hour, although even when my back was turned, I could still feel it… watching me… judging me…

I waited until later that night for my dad to get home so he could open it for me, which he did, laughing at me the entire time. I stored it in some tupperware in the fridge and vowed to conquer the pumpkin roll the next day.

That day would be today. I mixed together all the ingredients, tra la la la — then, because we are out of Pam, I had to flour and butter the jelly roll pan, which I have never done before. And when the roll came out of the oven, there was a huge spot of flour on the bottom.

https://i2.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/20axr90.jpg

I made the executive decision to do nothing. I know the flour will be eaten at some point, and a DD: face will be made, and I have not the time to care for such things.

I rolled the pumpkin cake thingy into a dishtowel and let it cool off. It was actually kind of neat. Steam was, like, coming out through the towel.

https://i1.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/16jjtd.jpg

After it cooled, I put it in the fridge for a bit, then unrolled it. And then, the coup de grace —

https://i1.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/b5s74w.jpg

NUTELLA. It’s pretty much just as good as I remembered. Although I’m not so sure it goes so great with these pumpkin rolls. I mean, don’t get me wrong, it’s delicious — but the peanut butter consistency makes it difficult to cut when you’re serving/eating it.

https://i2.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/5aj5p0.jpg

And, of course, when I rolled it back up, there was a huge crack. Why can’t most of the things I make be pretty, ever? Sigh. I loathe my clumsy hands. I also didn’t roll it up tight enough.

https://i2.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/fu84yd.jpg

But look at the Nutella on this knife instead. Yum.

I also like to employ my own method of cleaning:

https://i1.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/vq1aag.jpg

So, after it sat in the fridge again for a little bit, I had a slice. And it was all right. A little bit too pumpkin-y for my taste, though.

And I don’t feel like posting the entire recipe here, so you can just find it at the Joy of Baking website.

5 thoughts on “Pumpkin Rolls

  1. Erin says:

    I FEEL SO SAD THAT YOU COULDN’T OPEN THE PUMPKIN! D: AND NO ONE WAS EVEN THERE TO HELP YOU! What a sad story. =/

    But yum, pumpkin bread type stuff and Nutella? That actually sounds pretty delicious. I approve.

    And the flour isn’t such a big deal. It’s basically tasteless, so they’ll just get a mouthful of dry powder stuff and be like “wtf?!” It’d be worse if it was a huge clump of baking soda or something. XD

    YAY JACKIE ❤

    • You would feel even sadder for me if you had actually seen me crying over a goddamn can of pumpkins, haha. It was very emotional.

      It was… I mean, I thought I would like it more than I did, but I guess either the recipe isn’t great or I added too much pumpkin somehow, idk. I’m probably going to toss the rest of it.

      Haha, true!

  2. souffledays says:

    Thanks so much for submitting this! Nutella and pumpkin mmmmhm. I’ve been missing the pumpkin this time of year while I’m in France.

    -Heather

  3. […] Jackie Ruins the Cake made Pumpkin Rolls: It may not look very pretty, but it’s pumpkin and it has Nutella in it, therefore it is delicious. […]

  4. […] of you might remember last year, when I had that battle with the can of pumpkin while making pumpkin rolls. Happily, the tears and the fruitless hammering didn’t occur this time, and I was able to […]

Leave a Reply

