Molten Chocolate Cake

Yes! It has been ages! You see, I knew this would happen. I knew after a couple of months I would start procrastinating on entries, until finally I just wouldn’t be writing them anymore. Well, that hasn’t happened yet, and hopefully it doesn’t, because I’m still baking things and taking pictures every week, even though I haven’t been posting about it.

Obviously a special treat needed to be made for Thanksgiving. Originally I had a poll on my Livejournal, asking what dessert I should make, and cheesecake was the winner.

Clearly, I wound up not making cheesecake. Instead I made this great Molten Chocolate Cake. The pictures made it look delicious and chocolate-y and HOLY SHIT A RIVER OF CHOCOLATE COMES OUT WHEN YOU EAT IT, so I said “Screw the poll! I’m making this! Mwahahahaha!” (The evil laugh probably wasn’t necessary, but I did it anyway.)

Unfortunately, my work scheduled me for most of the day on Thanksgiving, so I was forced to do the mixing and whatnot in the morning. But that was okay, since you can put these in the fridge and heat them up whenever you like.

https://i1.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/15zo1s7.jpg

The batter was a lot more liquid-y than I was expecting. Also, I sprayed some Pam on the ramekins before pouring, and I don’t know what the deal with this Pam is — maybe because it’s new? — but it is super buttery and thick and strange. I didn’t even hold down the nozzle for very long, but a whole stream of WHAT THE FFFUUUUUUCCCK IT’S PAM, BITCHES came shooting out of it. The same thing happened with the pumpkin cookies (which I didn’t really post about here and never will, because I didn’t take pictures, but rest assured they were Ah. Mah. Zing.)

Anyway, I put the lid on the ramekins, slid them into the fridge, and merrily headed to work. It was a tiring day, so I was glad I had already made the batter and just had to stick them in the oven for 15 minutes after an also tiring Thanksgiving meal.

https://i2.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/2zhh5yh.jpg

Just like with my Brownie Sundae Cake, it was very chocolate-y. So chocolate-y I actually couldn’t finish it, and neither could my mom. We were both too full from the dinner we had just had. But it was good regardless. Even if my sad attempt at making the dish look pretty just came out looking… well, like this.

https://i0.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/11bi6f5.jpg

(and this is the one that turned out better. I wish I had taken a picture of the other one; it looked hilarious.)

Once again, I am feeling too lazy to type out the recipe, so you can just get it from here at Epicurious.

Now, part of the reason I haven’t been posting as much is because — ironically, I guess? Um. — I’ve started working in a bakery! Not a “real” bakery, mind you, it’s just one in a grocery store so nothing’s really made from scratch, but enough of a bakery that by the time I get home I’m tired of pastries and don’t want to write about them on the Internet. But maybe next week I’ll include a post about my experiences there so far. We’ll see, we’ll see.

3 thoughts on “Molten Chocolate Cake

  1. Erin says:

    Delicious. Seriously, come live in my house and cook for me. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I think writing about your experience (GOOD GOD IT TOOK ME LIKE EIGHT TRIES TO GET THAT WORD RIGHT WTF IS THAT) in the bakery would be cool. I’m sure you have many hilarious stories. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. […] guess from the title of this post!). The Chocolate Cloud Cake is flourless, and having had a small cake with no flour in it I was curious to see what a large one would taste like. And the slow roasted chicken! Chicken is my […]

Leave a Reply

