Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

I dunno what it is, but something about these cookies just screams “WINTER!!!” to me. Maybe it’s because of the powdered sugar on top that looks like snow? Regardless, for me these are winter cookies, and it seemed only fitting that yesterday I make them as a belated Christmas present for a friend.

I actually made these for the first time last month, and you’d think they’d be simple enough, right? Just make the batter, roll the balls in powdered sugar or what have you, and boom, pretty cookies.

Well, you know me. Of course it can never go totally right!

https://i1.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/2rxv24o.jpg

The recipe said to leave the batter in the fridge for four goddamn hours. Four hours! Who has that kind of time to make cookies, amirite? So I improvised by putting them in the freezer for an hour, which did the trick perfectly. I would recommend just doing that, unless for some reason you will be away from the kitchen for four hours, in which case I guess you could put it in the fridge. But it’s a lot easier to just stick it in the freezer.

Anyway, the batter is all nice and ready for me to shape it into balls with my hands (snicker), so I dump a bunch of sugar in a bowl and roll, roll, roll, place them on the baking sheet, and —

https://i2.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/25hk3rs.jpg

— they come out like this.

Now, these things are supposed to come out looking absolutely covered in sugar. And I rolled the dough so that you couldn’t see any of it underneath the powdered sugar before I put it in the oven, but somehow it all… evaporated, I guess? So I tried again, this time using even more powdered sugar.

https://i2.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/war4gh.jpg

Nope. Still nuttin.

Now, the cookies themselves were absolutely delicious. I’m normally not too big on chocolate cookies, but these are really, really good. Nice and gooey and chocolatey on the inside. They kind of have the texture of brownies. But I really wanted the cookies to look like they had just been snowed on by the Powdered Sugar Clouds of Fluffy Wonder, so I made one last attempt. I drowned the motherfuckers in sugar.

https://i1.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/i50ois.jpg

And it worked! Except the cookies were sort of too big, but ah well. Can’t win them all, I guess. I had the same problem when I made them again yesterday for my friend, but the second batch I did looked absolutely perfect. I would share a photo but my camera has run out of battery and I don’t have any in the house. 😦

I definitely recommend these, though. They’re delicious and actually really easy to make. You don’t even need butter!

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

adapted from various places

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2-1 cup powdered sugar

Mix together the cocoa, granulated sugar, and vegetable oil in a medium or large bowl. Then beat in the eggs one at a time, making sure it’s incorporated before you add the next one. Stir in the vanilla extract, then add the flour, baking powder, and salt. Let sit, covered, in the freezer for an hour, or for four hours in the fridge.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly oil your palms with vegetable oil or water and roll dough into small balls. Cover each ball completely in powdered sugar (seriously, just put as much as you can on it) and then place on the parchment-lined cookie sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, then let it sit on the cookie sheet for a minute or two, then transfer to wire rack to let cool completely. Don’t be worried if the cookies are soft at first; they’ll harden up.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

  1. Erin says:

    Oh man, I looooove these guys. :3 And you’re totally right, the powdered sugar snow is the best part. I’m glad it finally worked out. ^_^ They look so yummy, omg. You’d seriously better make some room in your house for me to come live with you. 😀

Leave a Reply

