Pancakes! Pancakes! Pancakes!

In case you couldn’t tell from the title of this post, I made pancakes last week. Instead of the angel food cake that I was supposed to. Why? Because the egg whites got ruined again, is why. I think I’m gonna hold off on the angel food cake thing until I master my egg separating abilities (and before you ask, yes, I put the egg whites in a separate bowl each time; the yolk somehow wound up in the bowl with them anyway and I still don’t know how it happened).

Anyway, since the angel food cake was a bust, and I had gotten up too early to just not bake anything, I searched high and low on the internet for something I could make with the limited amount of ingredients I had. The only thing I could find that didn’t require 500000 sticks of butter and was even vaguely appetizing to me was pancakes.

I’d never made pancakes before — not even the ones from the mix — and no one else was in the house to tell me I was doing it wrong, so I was looking forward to the surely hilarious results this venture would bring. As long as, you know, I didn’t start any fires. Which hasn’t happened yet, despite my dad insisting that one day I will set the house in flames.

And actually, it wasn’t really that difficult. Well, the mixing of the ingredients, anyway. But I didn’t think that was going to be a problem in the first place. It was the cooking it that I was worried about.

https://i1.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/34goshs.jpg

I gingerly poured a small amount of batter onto the pan and read over and over tips on a website as I poked at its side. Was it going to explode? Was it going to be burned to a crisp? Would it just not cook? Would I flip it over too early and have pancake batter fly all over the place?

https://i1.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/idswld.jpg

Actually… no! It was a perfectly decent pancake! I had a few bites to make sure it wasn’t undercooked, and it was pretty good. Except it was a little runny right in the center, but I figured I would just leave the next batch on a little longer.

Confident, I poured two pancake thingies onto the pan.

https://i0.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/2latpjc.jpg

Forty seconds later, they looked like this.

https://i2.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/143hjqw.jpg

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this on here, but my oven runs hot. Like, ridiculously hot. I can’t preheat the oven while mixing the ingredients because then everything would bake too quickly and it would be a total disaster every time. I should’ve realized the same would hold true for the pancakes, but I didn’t think ahead.

I quickly turned off the stove and threw some cold water on the pan and waited about ten minutes for it to cool before I tried again, this time on the lowest heat setting I could.

https://i2.wp.com/oi51.tinypic.com/30j5ml1.jpg

The last few turned out much better, except they were still runny in the middle. I asked my mom about this later and she told me the pancakes were probably too thick.

Oh, well. They were still delicious. And now I can make pancakes. So if I ever have children I will be able to make them something besides cookies.

This is the recipe I used, if you wanna give it a whirl.

2 thoughts on “Pancakes! Pancakes! Pancakes!

  1. Erin says:

    Oh my god, I laughed so hard at the “Confident, I poured two pancake thingies onto the pan. Forty seconds later, they looked like this” bit. SO HARD. OUT LOUD. AT 4:40 IN THE MORNING. XDDD You’re awesome and I love you.

    Forget children, when you come live with me as my personal baking… person. Baker. Pastry chef! That’s it. Ummm. PANCAKES. 😀 ❤

    Goodnight.

    • LOL I’m glad you were amused! XD Thank you.

      I actually tried making cinnamon pancakes this morning and the same thing happened, and my mom forced me to let her take over. The batter was too thick or something, is why it kept not cooking on the inside. ONE DAY I WILL MAKE PERFECT PANCAKES. ONE DAY.

Leave a Reply

