Cookie Cupcakes

Jesus, it’s dusty in here. *wipes away cobwebs*  Hello! Long time no see, huh? Hope you didn’t miss me too much. Things have been a little crazy here at HQ for the past couple of months. …Well, okay, that’s not strictly speaking true. Most of it has just been sheer laziness. I’ve still been baking, of course (not every week, but still), but for a long time now I just have not been able to force myself to write a new post. Why? I don’t really know. But here I am now! 😀

Of course, there’s a recent problem. I’ve lost my digital camera. *cue sad violin music* I seriously have no goddamn idea where it is, and I don’t really have the funds to purchase a new one, so the last two things I baked I do not have pictures for (red velvet cookies and coconut brownies). I could just use my phone, but it’s not the same. It doesn’t have that neato macro feature. But I shall try to figure something out.

But anyway! Onto the cookie cupcakes. My friend Beth gave me a cookie recipe book for Christmas, and this was the first thing in it that I baked. It combines two of the things I seem to bake the most — cookies and cupcakes — so obviously it would make sense for me to try it!

Yeah, well, it kind of, sort of, didn’t really work.

Basically, the batter is cookie dough. And you put it in cupcake liners.

https://i0.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/25asrc6.jpg

Seems simple enough, no? Problem is, mine didn’t come out looking so pretty.

https://i0.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/5oh9aq.jpg

They were brown around the edges and spilled over the sides. I don’t know if they were supposed to look like that or what.

In addition to this, I originally was going to make mini-cookies as well, to place on top for decoration, but that didn’t really work out the way I had wanted it to. I did the little cookies before the cupcakes, and when I took them out of the oven they were… well, they were strange and flat and weird looking. And I realized I’d forgotten the salt.

So, I decided to try to put just a dash of salt in the remaining batter. But I accidentally spilled much more salt than I’d intended — I’d say about two teaspoons worth, probably. So the cookie cupcakes came out a little too salty. And maybe that’s why they spilled over? I don’t really know. There’s probably some science-y reason.

https://i2.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/2w6gheq.jpg

There was some fancy kind of cookie buttercream I was supposed to frost these with, but I was kind of tired at this point so I just made regular American buttercream and dyed it yellow and tried to frost it. A bunch of the cupcakes had huge craters in the middle so the frosting was a good way to disguise it, I guess.

https://i0.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/vifomf.jpg

Yeah, you can see some of the holes in these anyway.

I would type up the recipe for you here, but there’s no real point, since it’s basically just your standard chocolate chip cookie recipe, but in a cupcake liner instead. People at work seemed to like it, but I wasn’t really a fan. I’ll just take my cookie as a cookie next time, rather than as a cupcake.

Leave a Reply

