Cupcake Cones

For many people, summertime is the time for ice cream. Personally, I think all of the time is ice cream time, but I will admit it is a very awesome treat when it’s hot out and you’re sitting at home or walking around your neighborhood. And the ice cream trucks! There’s something special about ice cream from the truck. Even if it’s the kind of you can just buy at the store and keep in your freezer, it somehow tastes better after chasing down the ice cream man for blocks and blocks.

I recently came across a picture of what appeared to be ice cream, but was actually a cupcake in a cone with buttercream frosting on top, designed to look like an ice cream cone. “Holy shit, that’s really cool!” I thought to myself, and hunted down a recipe. I was sure it was going to be complicated, but every recipe I found was your basic “use a cake mix and put it in the cones and put the cones in the oven and yay you’re done!”.

Surely it couldn’t be that simple, though! Wouldn’t the cones tip over, or break, or burn? Wouldn’t the cupcake burst forth through the fragile sugar cone like the Hulk?

Surprisingly… no!

https://i2.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/qzet92.jpg

All of the recipes for Cupcake Cones said to use a cake mix, but I decided to actually make it from scratch this time! This recipe used boiling water, which made the batter more… well, water-y, as opposed to your usual thick cake batter.

https://i0.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/t6xv8j.jpg

A good tip that someone posted on a website was to put the batter into a Ziploc bag and pipe it into the cones. This worked very well, even though it was still a bit messy. Just… expect mess. A lot of mess. Chocolate everywhere.

I was still very nervous about the cones falling over, even as I gingerly placed the first batch into the oven. I checked them every few minutes or so, expecting to see broken cones and cupcake splattered everywhere, but it never happened. The cupcakes came out great, actually! They had nice little domes and it was really cool to eat through the cone to reveal more cake.

I used Swiss Meringue Buttercream for the icing, and it came out pretty good, although I realized after I had already piped the frosting on that I had forgotten to add the vanilla extract. But it still tasted okay.

https://i2.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/zspmk9.jpg

Also, for some reason my stand mixer wasn’t turning the bowl, so I had to stand there and twirl the bowl around so it wasn’t just mixing the same spot over and over. Then, randomly it started working again, so I was like, “Okay”, but then when I came back a minute later it had stopped again. What the hell, man. What the hell.

https://i0.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/345beqx.jpg

Doesn’t it look nifty?! As you can see, the frosting has a slight pink tinge to it, because I finally used that Wilton Color Mist I got for my birthday last year. Be careful with those things, if you ever use them, because the spray gets everywhere. Cover everything in your surroundings if you don’t want to be wiping pink off of your toaster oven days later.

I didn’t have time to add more decorations, but I suggest going crazy with these things! You can add sprinkles, dip the top in chocolate, anything you want to make it look more like ice cream. These are super cute and really fun to eat and look at.

https://i0.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/al5k6e.jpg

The only problem is transporting them. If you have to bring these somewhere besides your house you might run into some problems. I’m lucky enough to work in a bakery so I took a cake board and a plastic container from work and stuck the cones onto the board with frosting, but even then they tipped over a couple times on the way. I would recommend making these wherever it is you plan to serve them. A lot easier.

Cupcake Cones

For the cake: Use this chocolate cake recipe from Hershey’s.

Place the cones on a baking sheet or in a muffin tray. Pour the cake batter into a pastry or Ziploc bag and fill the cones a little more than half-way full. Carefully place inside the oven and let cook for about twenty minutes. Let cool.

For the frosting: Use the swiss buttercream recipe from Annie’s Eats.

Put the frosting into a pastry bag and, using a star tip, swirl onto the cupcakes so it looks like soft-serve ice cream. Decorate as you wish, and enjoy!

5 thoughts on “Cupcake Cones

  1. Hilary says:

    These do look cool! I’m so proud of your baking exploits.

  2. Erin says:

    Oh my god, this is so freaking cool. O_O I WANT TO DO THIS IMMEDIATELY. Soooo coooool. 😀

  3. […] the cake itself, I used the same one I used for the Cupcake Cones I made a while back, but instead of using a spoon or a mixer, I used a whisk. Why? I don’t […]

Leave a Reply

