Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

I. Hate. Raisins.

I don’t understand why people insist on ruining so many good foods by putting raisins in them. Cinnamon bagels, cinnamon bread… oatmeal cookies. When I was a kid, I had oatmeal cookies that didn’t have raisins in them, and they were delicious. So when I was told that oatmeal cookies usually have raisins, I was shocked and appalled. Raisins are gross. I will stand by this forever. Especially when you pair it with something with cinnamon in it. How dare you besmirch something as pure and good as cinnamon with something as nasty as raisins! It ought to be a hanging offense! A HANGING OFFENSE, I SAY!

…Ahem.

Anyway, I decided to make my own oatmeal cookies, only without those horrible raisins. I had a lot of quick-cook oats left from a different baking venture that I still haven’t gotten around to posting on here, and they’re expiring in another month or so, so I figured it was time to use them for something else.

https://i1.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/2urnsco.jpg

Most of the time, when I see cookie recipes online, I see photos of people mixing the dough with a kitchen stand mixer. I like to do it with my hands. It’s just so much more fun that way. I feel like I’m actually making something. It’s work, but it’s fun work, kneading the dough over and over. Tiring — but satisfying. It’s then that I feel I’m truly baking. I suppose it’s because I first started out with cookies. Way before I started getting really into baking, when I just made delicious chocolate chip cookies over and over again.

https://i2.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/144a6gx.jpg

What I usually do when I make cookies is throw it all in there at once and then mix it all together, but with this I added the butter and light brown sugar, then the eggs and the vanilla extract and mixed them together with my hands before adding the oats, the flour, and the rest. It was a little gross, but then it was actually rather interesting and enjoyable. I felt the gooey strands between my fingers as I pressed the butter into the mixture, and it fell off my fingertips like ribbons.

Now, I may have screwed up a little on one part. I was supposed to add the oats before the flour, but instead I added them at the end. That was probably why they didn’t really… bake, exactly. It wound up tasting like a regular chocolate chip cookie that happened to have oat flakes on it.

https://i0.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/hrhoqc.jpg

I had just started baking some of the cookies when, as I was cleaning up my baking materials, I noticed that I’d forgotten the baking soda! Cookies need the baking soda to rise, so I immediately took the barely-baked cookies out of the oven and threw them out, and then tossed a teaspoon-full of baking soda into the remaining dough.

https://i0.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/jfz3g0.jpg

And all was well! Sort of.

I don’t think I’ll be using margarine in my cookie recipes anymore. At least, not all margarine, anyway. Granted, the cookies don’t spread as much, but… it doesn’t taste as good. Because, you see, I take the margarine out of the tubs and just kind of plop it in there, so it probably doesn’t actually equal a full cup.

https://i2.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/2w36rtd.jpg

These cookies were rock hard. At first I thought it might have been because I had left them in the oven too long, so I took my second batch out earlier, while they were still soft.

Nope. Still wound up extremely hard. And, in my opinion, they didn’t taste that great. Not horrible — but not the quality I’m used to making. My boyfriend said they were pretty good as long as they were dipped in milk, but I’m not one for dipping cookies in milk (I know, I know! Shut up! I don’t like milk except in coffee, okay?), so I suppose I shall have to throw the rest out.

https://i2.wp.com/oi51.tinypic.com/1z4wm6g.jpg

A shame, really. If you want to give the recipe a try, here it is.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

(adapted from Betty Crocker)

1 1/2 cups of light brown sugar

1 cup of butter or margarine, softened

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 egg

2 cups quick-cook oats

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, stir the sugar, butter, vanilla, and egg together until fluffy. Mix in the oats, flour, baking soda, and salt, and finally stir in the chocolate chips.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, then roll dough into balls and place on sheet two inches apart. Baking 9-11 minutes, or until brown but still slightly soft. Let cool on baking sheet for a minute or two, then transfer to wire rack or non-heated surface to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

