Chocolate Chip Cookies That Aren’t Flat!

Do your cookies frequently come out looking like this?

https://i0.wp.com/oi53.tinypic.com/333zofa.jpg

Mine do too. I have been trying to figure out for ages why they keep coming out like this. For the longest time I thought it was because of the butter, but I’ve gotten sick of using small amounts of margarine and having puffy cookies that don’t taste very good, so I decided to dedicate today to figuring out how to make my cookies puffy.

My first batch came out terribly. I realized, however, that the dough was far too soft, and so I stuck it in the fridge and watched an episode of Doctor Who before throwing another tray in the oven.

Those, somehow, came out even worse.

I remembered reading in my Baking Answer Book that baking powder causes baked goods to rise, and after reading a comment on the internet suggesting adding more flour to your cookie dough if it kept coming out flat, I put in half a teaspoon of baking powder and 1/4 cup of flour in the remaining mixture, and…

https://i1.wp.com/oi56.tinypic.com/2vadrvs.jpg

Oh my God! Normal cookies! Actual, honest-to-god, normal human cookies! (Okay, they’re not human… OR ARE THEY?! Chocolate chip cookies are people!!!)

Whenever I bring these in to work, people always praise me over how delicious they are, and they didn’t disappoint today when I went to go visit my boyfriend. I’m just glad I was able serve cookies that both tasted and looked good for once!

So, if your cookies keep coming out flat like mine, try these tips:

  • Chill the dough for at least half an hour before baking.
  • Make sure the butter isn’t too soft.
  • Use baking powder in addition to or in substitution to the baking soda.
  • Check to see that your baking powder or baking soda isn’t old, and make sure they haven’t been exposed to air for long periods of time.
  • Add a little extra flour if necessary.

If you have any other tips, feel free to leave some in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies That Aren’t Flat!

  1. Bionica says:

    the cookies look so yum
    yay to reg cookies =)

    -Bionica

  2. Jackie says:

    Ahhhh! Thank God! For years, my brother complains every year about the flatness of my cookies, and his only request for this year? “Find a recipe that doesn’t make your chocolate chip cookies flat…again.” Thank you, thank you, thank you! Ironically, my name is Jackie, so I was thrilled to find another one whos’ cookies were also flat πŸ˜‰ Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

