Meringue Ghosts

https://i2.wp.com/oi39.tinypic.com/2crnifb.jpg

…What.

It is October 31st, Halloween, and there is snow outside.

WHAT IS GOING ON?

In case you hadn’t heard, us in the Northeast of the U.S. got hit with snow a few days ago. It has never, ever snowed in October during my lifetime. It ruined my Halloween plans and makes walking to work a pain in the ass.

At least I can still bake! Though, I almost didn’t because I woke up this morning with my fourth cold sore this month, and was hardly in the mood for making cookies (i.e. a ‘throwing myself around the bed and kicking my legs in rage’ kind of mood). But, around 11, I got bored and decided to just suck it up and do it.

I was originally going to make these pinwheel-esque Halloween cookies, but I didn’t have the time and, after thinking for a minute, decided to make Ghost Meringue cookies instead. I’ve made French Meringue cookies before, but I never got around to posting about it on here.

https://i1.wp.com/oi44.tinypic.com/2co63pd.jpg

Meringue cookies don’t require a lot of ingredients — just four egg whites, a cup of sugar, half a teaspoon of cream of tartar, and some vanilla extract.

And whipping. Lots and lots of whipping. (No, not that kind of whipping, you sick freaks. You should be ashamed of yourself. And your family.)

It was nice to forget about my problems for a while as I separated four eggs, whipped them into a nice foam, added cream of tartar and sugar a little bit at a time, and watched it form into nice, shiny, glossy, stiff peaks. IT WAS BEAUTIFUL.

https://i2.wp.com/oi44.tinypic.com/2duxau1.jpg

See? Ain’t it purdy?

They say stress can trigger cold sore outbreaks, and I’ve certainly been under a lot of stress lately. Baking can either help relieve my stress… or, sometimes, it can stress me out even more. Kind of a crap shoot, really. I got lucky this time, though, and nothing went too terribly wrong. …Except that I ran out of parchment paper. But I sprayed a bunch of Pam on my cookie sheet and hoped that would work.

And it did, mostly. About half of the cookies came off the tray without any problems, and the others… well. They broke. Even when I gently ran my knife under them to loosen, they still fell apart. These things are fragile, man. You gotta be careful with them.

https://i2.wp.com/oi40.tinypic.com/23sw0ok.jpg

AWWWW, AIN’T THEY ADORABLE? They taste pretty good, too. This is a very unique type of cookie. Odds are you’ve never really eaten something like it. The texture is dry and thin and cracks in your mouth, but it’s also sugary and chewy and still tastes good, somehow.

But when I was taking photos of these little guys, my camera stopped and said “BLINK DETECTED”, then drew an outline around one of the ghosts in the back. W-what. Are… are these cookies haunted???? SPOOOOOOOKY!

https://i1.wp.com/oi44.tinypic.com/2houywm.jpg

*insert Twilight Zone music here*

Have a Happy Halloween, everybody! Or, if you don’t celebrate, Happy Monday!

Meringue Ghosts

4 large egg whites

1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar

1 cup caster sugar (if you don’t have this, just use regular granulated sugar and it should be ok)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 200 degrees F. Pour your four egg whites into the bowl of your electric mixer that’s fitted with a whisk attachment (I didn’t use a whisk but you probably should, if you have one). Beat the egg whites on medium-low speed until foamy, then add the cream of tartar and beat until soft peaks form. Add the sugar a tablespoon at a time until glossy, stiff peaks have formed. Put the meringue in a pastry bag fitted with a plain, round tip, and pipe 2-inch mounds on a cookie sheet. You can press two candy eyes or mini chocolate chips in each mound right now for eyes, or pipe on eyes later.

Bake for an hour to an hour and a half, or until the cookies are dry and crisp to touch. Turn off the oven and let them cool in there for a while. Then serve and enjoy!

One thought on “Meringue Ghosts

  1. Erin says:

    Sorry for the late comment, I don’t know how I missed this post, but OH MY GOD, how cute are these?! :O I love them! :3 I think I’ve had meringue cookies before, possibly, and I seem to remember liking them. They’re just sugar and eggs whites, how could you not? XD Very good pictures, and I’m glad nothing went wrong! Yaayyy Jackie!

Leave a Reply

