Brownie Pops

I’ve been doing so many recipes from that Golden Book of Chocolate recently I almost feel like I’m doing a challenge wherein I’m trying to do all of the recipes in there, a la Julie & Julia. But I was flipping through its pages, and came across these absolutely delicious-looking brownies, and knew I had to try them.

Everything was going pretty well, at first. I chopped up the chocolate, melted it with the butter, mixed all of the ingredients together… eagerly looking forward to having what the book termed “Rich Chocolate Brownies”.

https://i0.wp.com/oi41.tinypic.com/16aayvs.jpg

I poured the finished mixture in the pan, popped it in the oven, and then remembered, half-way through baking, that I had forgotten to spray the pan. AGAIN.

This exact same thing had happened a few months ago when I was making brownies from a mix for my mom, and instead of learning from my mistakes I promptly made the exact same mistake again.

https://i2.wp.com/oi40.tinypic.com/2d14p4.jpg

AAARGH.

I was really, really pissed off. All of that work, and for fucking nothing. Just a crumbly, albeit tasty, mess. I couldn’t bring this to work. I couldn’t give anyone this garbage. Who would eat it? No one. Why can’t I ever make anything that looks pretty? Why does everything I bake have to look like it was slapped together by a drooling two-year-old? I should just give up.

But my usual defeatist attitude wasn’t going to win that day. I tried to think of something I could make with scraps of brownies.

And then I thought of cake pops.

I’ve had a bad relationship with cake balls and pops in the past. Mine just… never come out looking good. The last time I attempted cake pops was Halloween a year ago, when the melted orange candy kept burning and the cake balls kept falling off the sticks and it was all just so annoying and frustrating that I vowed to never make the goddamn things ever again.

What else to do with the brownie scraps, though? I bought some chocolate frosting, mushed it all together, and threw it in the fridge, where it sat for several days because work and Skyrim have eaten up a lot of my time recently. But I finally got around to melting some chocolate, rolling the brownies into balls, poking a stick in them, dipping them, rolling them in festive sprinkles, aaaaand —

https://i0.wp.com/oi42.tinypic.com/s13vx4.jpg

Wow! Not too bad! They don’t look super amazing and pretty, but they don’t look like a falling-apart mess, either. Maybe I can do this cake pop stuff after all. Probably not like Bakerella does, but still, it’s nice to know I can do the basics if I stop whining. And also if I refrigerate everything for ages. That’s probably the trick.

People loved these when I brought them to work, including my boyfriend, who had three. I still have a lot of brownies left over so I will probably make more for everyone for the holidays (that is, if they haven’t gone bad by now). This wound up being more interesting than just plain old brownies, anyway, so I guess it’s good I forgot to spray the pan after all.

2 thoughts on “Brownie Pops

  1. Luke says:

    😯 Those look so good. I want!

  2. Erin says:

    For the record, if it’s chocolate, I’ll eat it, regardless of the shape it’s in. XD But I feel your pain – it sucks when you try so hard on something and it comes out looking like it was made by a one-handed gorilla with coordination issues. =/

    BUT! Those looks so pretty and fun, they’re probably way better anyway. ALSO chocolate dipped in more chocolate = better than just plain chocolate, so I’M a fan. 😀

Leave a Reply

