Chocolate Cake/Cupcakes with Ganache Topping

What I’ve made for this post is nothing extraordinary — nothing, in fact, that I haven’t already made before. But after the disappointment of last time, stepping out of my comfort zone wasn’t really something I was prepared to do. Perhaps another day I’ll attempt a full-blown layer cake, but today is not that day.

I really wanted to make something for Valentine’s Day. This is the first Valentine’s Day I’ve been in possession of a boyfriend, and while I know it isn’t really that big of a deal, it was nice to finally feel smug after all those years of glaring at the girls in high school who carried balloons around with them all day and received dozens of chocolate roses from boyfriends and secret admirers. Finally, I’m one of them! IN. YO. FACE.

Of course, the day itself was pretty much just like any other day, except with more chocolate and cookies. And also these cupcakes I managed to whip together.

https://i2.wp.com/oi44.tinypic.com/2yy2mpk.jpg

(this isn’t the chocolate I used; I just like the picture)

For the cake itself, I used the same one I used for the Cupcake Cones I made a while back, but instead of using a spoon or a mixer, I used a whisk. Why? I don’t know. I just felt like it. This, however, served to make the cake very light and fluffy, due to the air molecules and blah blah blah science.

I forgot, however, to account for the fluffiness when I filled my cute, pink paper baking cups.

https://i2.wp.com/oi41.tinypic.com/2rmqq9e.jpg

Ahahaha. Oops.

All was well, though. I didn’t have a breakdown. I didn’t start crying. Instead I pulled the excess off and was left with mildly soggy baking cups and yummy chocolate cupcakes.

I’d wanted to make a coffee buttercream for these, but Rob was going to come over soon at this point, so instead I just topped it with the ganache I was going to use to fill it with. It looked kind of boring, though — just a thin layer of chocolate on top of more chocolate — so I took some Lindt truffles my mom got me and placed them on top as decoration.

https://i0.wp.com/oi41.tinypic.com/s6rmsm.jpg

There, much better!

Rob seemed to like them, although the baking cups were difficult to tear away from the cake. It kept seeming like we were gonna have to wind up eating the paper as well, but thankfully we did not.

I only had five baking cups, so I had lots of batter and ganache left over. I stuck them both in the fridge to worry about some other time, and after several days of meaning to, I finally got around to using them today. I didn’t want to make more cupcakes for fear the Volcano Cupcake Disaster would happen again.

So I took a deep breath and poured the remaining batter in a 9-inch cake pan.

And waited.

And worried.

And then…

https://i0.wp.com/oi40.tinypic.com/25s1um1.jpg

IT’S PERFECT. LOOK AT IT. A PERFECT CAKE.

I was so damn happy I didn’t fuck it up and blow up the oven in an explosion of cake batter that I immediately shoved the cake in the fridge after dumping it on a plate and began merrily melting the leftover ganache in the microwave. Again, I made no buttercream, becaaaaaause I’m lazy. And also I had enough ganache to cover the whole cake anyway, so what would the point be?

Well, I did just that, and decided that, again, the cake looked boring. I had no more truffles, but we had some mini-chocolate chips in the fridge, so I did a little decorating with those.

https://i0.wp.com/oi40.tinypic.com/344doh3.jpg

Overall, not too bad! It’s not a perfectly smooth coating, and there are still chunks of ganache that didn’t totally melt, but I don’t really care at this point. I only wish I could add a splash of color to this, but other than that it looks good enough to me.

And pretty tasty, too! You can’t go wrong with having EVERYTHING EVER BE CHOCOLATE.

Here are links to the cake and ganache recipes I used.

Hershey’s Perfectly Chocolate Cake
Joy of Baking’s Ganache

Leave a Reply

