Peanut Butter Icebox Cake

Apologies, apologies. I know I said I would post something here once a month, but… well, life gets in the way. Life, and a gradually decreasing inclination to bake. It’s sad, that something I used to get excited about now just makes me shrug and put it off. If I didn’t feel so guilty about never updating this site, never using my camera, and never using all of the baking equipment and supplies I’ve acquired over the past two years, I probably wouldn’t even be doing this entry right now.

It’s kind of depressing, but it’s the truth.

But! I still had fun making this anyway. I was originally going to make Peanut Butter Pie, but decided not to because the recipe was all, “lol buy cool whip” and I was like, “lol no”. Then I was going to make Coconut Macaroon Bars at the suggestion of my mother, but I had almost none of the ingredients and was not in the mood to blow a ton of money.

My boyfriend came up with the idea to make icebox cake, something he’s made a bunch of times before and loves. Icebox cake is basically just whipped cream and cookies, so what’s not to like? But I decided to make it a little different by making a peanut butter whipped cream instead.

https://i2.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/9zxfrn.jpg

In the past when I’ve made whipped cream, it’s never formed stiff peaks. I’ve read that chilling the bowl and the beaters helps, but I just… never did that? For some reason? I did this time, though, and it totally worked. The cream formed stiff peaks in no time. It was awesome. I didn’t have to whip it for ages and ages just to get it halfway there. I was quite pleased with myself.

I’m actually not a huge fan of peanut butter, and thus not of this whipped cream, but others seemed to love it so I suppose it was a success. I mean, I do like peanut butter sometimes, but… I guess it depends. I definitely don’t like just straight peanut butter.

WOW THIS IS SO FASCINATING ANYWAY —

We used a loaf pan for this, and we nearly ran out of cookies to stack due to not being able to correctly gauge exactly how much whipped cream should go in between each cookie. We used a little too much so we weren’t able to completely frost the top.

https://i0.wp.com/oi54.tinypic.com/1pjgoh.jpg

But really, how can you mess up whipped cream and chocolate wafers? I would’ve thought I could have found a way, but I didn’t.

Rob frosted the top and covered it in crumbs from the remaining cookies, which also conveniently hid the bits where the frosting didn’t cover the cookies completely. That’s my motto — if you mess up, cover it in sprinkles.

https://i0.wp.com/oi55.tinypic.com/sw5kdt.jpg

And it was a huge hit! I brought it to work a couple days later, and everyone who had it said it was completely delicious. It’s nice to do something right for a change.

I really will try to update this blog more often. I do still like baking, even if I don’t get to do it very often and at the moment I’m kinda “meh” towards it. I just like creating things, whether it be cookies, or stories, or movies, or doodles of Jaime Lannister and Brienne of Tarth glaring at each other in a rowboat (I am going to be a MESS once season 3 of Game of Thrones starts, you guys).

Peanut Butter Icebox Cake

2 cups of heavy cream

1 cup of granulated sugar

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 box of thin chocolate wafers

Get an electric mixer. Chill the bowl and beaters you will be using to make the whipped cream in the fridge for at least fifteen minutes. Whip the heavy cream and sugar together until they form stiff peaks, about ten minutes. Or, if you do it by hand, considerably longer. Mix in the peanut butter.

Get a long pan, and take the wafers and spread whipped cream on them. Stack them in the pan until the pan is full. Spread the rest of the whipped cream on top. If you have leftover cookies, crumble them and sprinkle them on top. Let set in the fridge for four hours. Serve and enjoy!

https://i1.wp.com/oi52.tinypic.com/2iij3fd.jpg

Leave a Reply

